can i get a valium, please?

5 Jun

Yes, drugs. Preferably a Valium. I would love to have my heart slow down just a little bit with three months until we take off into the abyss of far away lands. More specifically, I will be leaving for Toronto and Halifax in two weeks and at this point, there is much to get done and more so, much to purchase.

Ah yes, the term “purchase.” It’s been on my lips a lot lately and now I am starting to chew on it like a piece of Jerky – vegetarian Jerky, of course. I chew on it and then I swallow it  but what I would really like to do is spit it out. Let me explain.

I have purchased a 35 litre bag to travel the world with. Do you know what a 35 litre bag looks like? It is small. Think about a small backpack. Ok, you ready? Now imagine it smaller. That’s it. Now make it more narrow. Yeah, about that size.

Itty, bitty, baggy, committee. That would be mine on the left. Lucas' is on the right.

Itty, bitty, baggy, committee.
That would be mine on the left. Lucas’ is on the right.

So I have the bag.

Now, I have conversed with seasoned travellers. Word has it when one travels they learn that North Americans purchase and use too much. They return home with a fresh sense of consumerism, or lack there of, and realize that they don’t need to live with nearly as much as, say, I think I do.

Cute little flower the the deuter bags come with.  Free advertising. deuter, pay me.

Cute little flower the the deuter bags come with.
Free advertising. deuter, pay me.

Here is the struggle: I am also told that I need to purchase a number of items before the trip. I don’t think that I need that much.

I am worried that I will buy all of these random items that seem attractive now, but for what?  For example, new shoes (I have a pair that are just swell), or a day bag; can I use the one that I got for free at a conference? I mean, I understand that there are important things that I need to buy. For example, a camera, a rain jacket and of course, my shots.

The contradicting messages are throwing me off but I have my own ideas about this. For those of you who are familiar with my A-type personality, sit down.

This is one time that I get to just gather my stuff, go, and figure this shit out along the way.

I want to open my arms and hug the challenges that I will face. In fact, I want to invite them in, make them some tea and whisper sweet nothings into their ear.  If I stay in my preferred comfort zone, and purchase and plan this thing to death, I will forever be stagnant, surrounding myself with the comforts of North American convenience and I do not want that.

“Throw away the pen! Throw away the lists! Bring the old shoes! Forget the comfortable, multiple purchases!”

Every time my mom started the engine in our beloved van at the start of a road trip, she would turn to me and say, “If we forgot something, it must not have been that important!”

*I will never, ever throw away my lists. They are my life line. I was lying.

4 Responses to “can i get a valium, please?”

  1. Cécile June 5, 2013 at 3:32 am #

    So good to read from you! We’ll be looking for news over this coming year full of discoveries and excitements for you, guys.
    Enjoy! Cécile

  2. Rocky June 5, 2013 at 3:44 am #

    ahhh yes and so the chaos begins in all its glory and enjoyment. Embrace the chaos it makes us rational. Looking the craziness right in the eye it will reinforce how normal you really are.

  3. kimsnider27 June 5, 2013 at 7:49 am #

    I am feeling you, M . . .when P and I go home this summer we’ll be doing the same. Don’t know if you have seen this site (http://www.roundtheworldflights.com/rtw-blogs/index.php/rtw-planning/packing/art-of-packing.html) but I have found it somewhat helpful. My friend who has travelled around the world also gave the following advice: put out what you want to bring and then halve it. I will buy some new stuff, but P’s approach is to bring old clothes/shoes and ditch and re-buy as necessary, so I might do a bit of that too.

    It makes me feel good to know I won’t be the only one next year posting photos of myself in the same outfit over and over again.

    A bit stressful, but exciting. By the way, I am sending an itinerary soon, but we’ve been delayed by a decision to only plan until January 2014, and then decide what else we want to see/do. But I’ll send travel plans from September-January. — Kim

  4. Ben June 5, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

    Dont forget… they have shops in foreign countries… if you need a new tank top of pair of flip flops in Portugal… you’ll be able to find them. That being said, the stuff you take from Canada… should be quality.

    I have ALWAYS taken too much when travelling… ALWAYS! great move buying small packs. You’ll be sweet.

Leave a Reply

